Fair Housing Laws

Federal Fair Housing Act (FHA): HUD Portal

  • The Fair Housing Act, Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental and financing of dwellings based on race, color, religion, sex and national origin.
  • FHA was amended in 1988 to prohibit discrimination on the basis of disability or familial status and require accessible units as part of multifamily units built after 1991.

Exemptions from FHA:

  • Housing developments for seniors, housing strictly reserved for members of religious organizations or private clubs, multifamily housing of four units or less with the owner occupying one unit.
Fair Housing Law
Washington Fair Housing Law:
  • Offers the same protections as Federal Fair Housing Act plus marital status and sexual orientation/gender status.
  • Enforced by Washington State Human Rights Commission.